Professor Denis King, OAM


Clinical Professor Graduate School of Medicine, University of Wollongong

Associate Adjunct Professor, University of NSW

Colorectal surgeon

He has held the position of Chair of the NSW Health Ministerial Advisory Committee and previously held the positions of Executive Clinical Director, SESIAHS and the Director of the Division of Surgery at St George Hospital.

He has been a member of the Council of the University of Wollongong and is a Fellow of that University, and has been a member of the Advisory Board of the John Curtin School of Medical Research, and a member of the Boards of St George and Sutherland Medical Research Foundation and the Illawarra Health and Medical Research Foundation.

Professor King has over 40 years of experience in colorectal surgical practice and as Chair of the ISLHD Board for the last ten years continues his strong commitment to health system management.

 Denis King_0 (002).jpg

The Hon. Jillian Skinner

  • Member of NSW Parliament 23 years; 14 years Shadow Minister for Health; two years Shadow Minister for Education; six years Minister for Health and four years also Minister for Medical Research. During her time as Minister she:

  • Reformed the NSW public health system, increasing treatment, transparency and accountability through a devolved structure which involved establishing Local Health District and Specialty Network Boards.

  • Redeveloped hundreds of hospitals, boosting investment in IT, integrated community-based care, medical research and social policy programs including organ donation, pain management, improved palliative care and elimination of the transmission of HIV.

  • Since retiring in 2017 she continues her involvement in health care, through Jillian Skinner Consultants, including roles as:
    • Chair of the Australian Healthcare & Hospitals Association
    • Director of the Board of the Children’s Cancer Institute Australia;
    • Member of the Cancer Australia Advisory Council;
    • Member of the CSIRO Health & Biosecurity Advisory Group
    • Member of the Justice Health & Forensic Mental Health Network Board
    • Member of the Violet Strategic Advisory Committee
    • Member of DetectED-x Advisory Board
    • Member of the Australian British Health Catalyst Advisory Board
    • Patron Karitane
 Jillian Skinner 15-12-21 - large file-128 copy.jpg

Associate Professor Penny Abbott


A/Prof Abbott has substantial experience in the health of justice-involved people through multiple clinical, research, teaching and professional roles. Her particular focus has been primary health care access, quality and delivery both for people in prison and people in the community. She has a strong interest in Aboriginal health and worked in as a general practitioner in the Aboriginal community controlled health sector from 1991-2017. She has held representative positions on many local, state and national committees in the area of primary care. Some of her current roles are noted below.

  • Associate Professor, Department of General Practice, Western Sydney University
  • Visiting General Practitioner (GP) Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network
  • Chair of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners Custodial Health Specific Interests Group
  • Member of Western Sydney Primary Health Network Clinical Council and GP Leaders group
  • Member of the General Practice Advisory Group, Agency for Clinical Innovation, NSW Ministry of Health


Mr Roger Downs

LLB, BCom, Dip.Mgt

Deputy Chair – Warrigal Care (not for profit aged care provider)

Board Member and former Chair– Illawarra Credit Union Ltd

10 years on the Board of Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District (ended 2021)

Retired lawyer – former law firm partner specialising in commercial and business law, former Chair and member of the NSW Law Society Business Law Committee

Extensive experience in corporate governance with more than 20 years on public company boards with non-executive director and audit & risk committee roles in the education, health, aged care, local government and banking & finance sectors

Strong interest in building governance frameworks that support effective delivery of strategic outcomes

 Mr Roger Downs - Board Photo May 2022.jpg

Mr Paul Knight

Paul Knight has over 25 years experience in senior management and an academic background in business and law. He is currently a Director of several private businesses in industries such as Property Development and Management, Information Technology (AR, VR and XR). Tourism and Hospitality. He also has extensive experience across Indigenous employment, business and economic development.

Paul maintains strong community leadership roles holding Board appointments with NSW Heritage Council, NSW NPWS Council, Coordinare Limited (PHN) and Independent Chair of the Audit and risk committee for the Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District and held a position on the Board for 10 years taking on roles such as Chair of Finance and Workforce Performance and Aboriginal Health. Paul also holds a Board position with the Illawarra Academy of Sport an is a sought-after leader with a strong focus on community.

As a Dharawal and Yuin custodian he is recognised for his strong understanding of Aboriginal culture and has held many community leadership roles including a current position on the NSW Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee for NSW.

 Paul Knight.jpg

Dr Robyn Shields AM


  • Deputy Mental Health Commissioner for NSW
  • Member NSW Government’s seclusion, restraint and coercive practices review committee
  • Awarded a Centenary Medal - 2012
  • Awarded the member of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of her services to Aboriginal Mental Health - 2004
  • Former Member of NSW Mental Health Review Tribunal
  • Awarded in 2015 – Recognised by Westpac – 100 Women of Influence
  • Instrumental in setting up mainstream Aboriginal Mental Health Services; Development of specific Policies, both State and National in the past.

Associate Professor Carolyn Quadrio


  • Associate Professor Quadrio is a practising Forensic Psychiatrist, specialising in forensic/child/family psychiatry, with particular specialisation in the areas of sexual and family violence.
  • She is a former Chair of the Binational Committee for Advanced Training in Psychotherapy for the RANZCP and was Director of Mental Health Services with (then) Corrections Health Service in NSW.
  • Some of her current work focuses on the prevention of child abuse and the role of trauma in relationship to psychiatric disturbance.

Dr Kath McFarlane

  • Dr Kath McFarlane is an Adjunct Associate Professor at the School of Population Health at the University of New South Wales, and Board member of the NSW Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network.
  • She served as a Chief of Staff across a range of portfolios in the NSW Government, was Executive Officer of the NSW Sentencing Council and the NSW Children’s Court, and undertook her PhD on ‘Care-criminalisation: the involvement of children in OOHC in the criminal justice system’.
  • The director of Kath McFarlane Consulting, she provides independent research, policy and program services to government and community organisations, particularly in the areas of Out-Of-Home Care, criminal justice, social justice and welfare outcomes. 


 Kath McFarlane Profile 2022 (002).jpeg