The Justice Health Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) is accredited by the National Health and Medical Research Council. It aims to support research that is carried out in an ethical manner that will lead to improvements in policy and in service delivery while protecting the welfare, rights, dignity and safety of research participants.

This site answers your questions such as:

It also provides a step-by-step guide to making an ethics application.

HREC meeting dates and submission deadlines 2022

Submission closing dates*

HREC meeting dates

Monday 31 January 2022

Thursday 17 February 2022

Monday 4 April 2022

Thursday 21 April 2022

Monday 30 May 2022

Thursday 16 June 2022

Monday 1 August 2022

Thursday 18 August 2022

Monday 3 October 2022

Thursday 20 October 2022

Monday 28 November 2022

Thursday 15 December 2022

* The submission deadline is midday on the specified date.

Justice Health HREC members

Name

Membership category

Associate Professor Megan Williams

Chairperson

Vacant

Lawyer (Deputy chair)

Adjunct Professor Julia Bowman

Research

Mr Michael Cecilio

Research

Mr Ian Close

Lay person

Dr Paul Simpson

Research

Ms Gabrielle Gibson

Professional care

Ms Josie Newton

Lay person

Dr Mark Ragg

Professional care

Mr Scott Gill

Research

Dr Bradley Gooding

Legal

Mr Jack Bulman

Pastoral Care

Ms Suzie Forell Research

 

Terms of reference

Click here.

Contact

We welcome questions and requests for information and support. Please contact the Research Governance & Ethics Officer on +612 9700 3443 or at JHFMHN-Ethics@health.nsw.gov.au